

July 15, 2021

The Honorable Karen Bass United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Brenda Lawrence United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Don Bacon United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jim Langevin United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Markwayne Mullin United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Co-Chairs of the Congressional Caucus on Foster Youth,

On Sunday, December 27, 2020, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 was signed into law. The unanimous vote in Congress was a clear demonstration that national leaders were making a commitment to the hundreds of millions of people who would benefit from the various economic relief programs that addressed hardships caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

The National Foster Youth Institute applauded the benefits included in the legislation, specifically supporting the major investment made to constituents of the child welfare system through the Supporting Foster Youth and Families through the Pandemic Act. This legislation was the culmination of discussions with members of Congress through NFYI sponsored Town Halls that brought together current and former foster youth with decision makers to discuss the negative impacts the pandemic was having on the child welfare system.

The expanded benefits, including \$400 million dollars in CHAFEE funds to provide states with resources to support transition age youth with financial, housing, employment, and other assistance, is <u>set to expire this September without your help</u>. With just a few weeks to go, more than half the states have yet to get these funds out the door and into the pockets of constituents of the child welfare system. This is why the National Foster Youth Institute is encouraging you to introduce legislation that will postpone the September appropriations deadline.

With the delta variant on the rise, failure to act will result in thousands of foster youth unable to access funds intended to help them during a global pandemic. This in turn will render your extraordinary investment moot, erasing the momentous recovery from the negative impacts associated with COVID-19.

In Solidarity,

Rebecca Louve Yao, Executive Director



## Additional NFYI Congressional Town Hall Guests - cc:

- The Honorable Nancy Pelosi
- The Honorable Danny K. Davis
- The Honorable Jackie Walorski
- The Honorable Judy Chu
- The Honorable Bonnie Watson Coleman
- The Honorable Gwen Moore
- The Honorable Kim Schrier
- The Honorable Dan Kildee
- The Honorable Tony Cardenas
- The Honorable Mary Gay Scanlon
- The Honorable Chuck Grassley

## **Partners**





















## **Individuals**

Patricia A Cody, PhD Rachel Roberts Melanie Goodman Larae Jackson Nicole Cadena Jarel Melendez Michael Darajorn Lovina Okoronkwo

Pauline Hill
Pamela Dorsey
Anna Johnson
Deb Kelleher
Alicia McIntire
Amy Weaver
Joanna McCaffery
Christina Anaya
Tiara Racine
Brenda Gerhardt
Leigh Quijada

Yocelyn Ramirez-Pena

PaulinaLee

Cyrus Martinez
Tianni Pitts
Monica Romero
Victoria Steward
Tony Parsons
ELizabeth Wells
Angelique Day
Justin Davis
Crystal Hernandez
Anna Judson
Trenae Ka

Kevin (Drake) Lynn Jennifer Martinez Raven Profit Tina Harris Aliyah Zeien TKeyah Dupclay Alisiana Medina Jamia Sutton **Prestina Singleton** Myja Darby **Derrick Young** Maya Wilson Serena Aguilar **Diamonds Troupe** Jade Phillips Luiz Gomez Freedom Lufkins Jamie Bennett

Selena Bermejo Romero Stacia Parker Caitlyn Shumaker Kayla Townsend Cory Seller Nicholas Olivares Dejwaun Armstrong

Kyle Craig Alyssa Hill Maurisa Clark Victoria Davis Arieana Howard Brianna Sarmiento

Jaquel Pitts

Shelby Matthis
Jaqueline Leonard
Teresa Morales
Mechelle Shaw
Quanisha Jackson
Samaya Ochoa
Joanna Heretick
Ashley Cabrera
Susan Mangold
Sophia Broudy

Sheena Taylor-Watford

Ada Smith

Michelle Henderson

Cathy Moffa Amy Brady Jennifer Nieves John Gyourko

Rosie McNamara-Jones

Dianne Mack Susan Punnett Jeanette Rosenau

Me Carmelita Coleman

Nichol Flowers
Daniel Villarreal
Élane Jones
Toni Duncan
Cindy Tong
Roberta Garcia
Denise Daugherty
David Oyola
Elijah Edwards