Coronavirus Rapid Response

Lifting Up Foster Youth Voices During a Crisis

The coronavirus pandemic isn’t only a threat to our nation’s health. It’s having a devastating impact on many communities — especially vulnerable populations like youth in foster care, transition age youth (TAY) who have recently left care, young adults in precarious housing situations, students, and more. NFYI is working with TAY, funders, and partner organizations to respond rapidly and effectively with virtual meetings and town halls, resource guides, outreach to legislators, and action alerts. Check this page regularly for opportunities to lift up foster youth voices and ensure that our voices are included in solutions to this national crisis.

Upcoming webinars for current/former foster youth:

Virtual Town Hall with Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon
Friday, July 24 | 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4pm ET
Join NFYI and Pennsylvania Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon for a national virtual town hall. We’ll talk about how Congress is helping current/former foster youth during the coronavirus crisis and do a Q&A with Rep. Scanlon. Bring your questions and suggestions and RSVP to join us here!

Virtual Town Hall with Congressmember Kim Schrier
Friday, July 31 | 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4pm ET
The doctor is in! Join Washington state’s Rep. Kim Schrier, MD, for a virtual town hall for current/former foster youth, advocates, and supporters. Bring your questions, share your experiences with the Congressmember, and get an update on how Congress is working to provide resources to current/former foster youth during the coronavirus crisis. RSVP and submit questions in advance.

Resources for Transition Age Youth

Los Angeles County Resources

National Resources

 

2020 Congressional Shadow Day

NFYI’s 2020 Congressional Shadow Day has been canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. All participants accepted to this year’s cohort will be automatically accepted into the 2021 Congressional Shadow Day program. Click here for more details.

 

Take Action

Share your coronavirus story with Congress and other decision makers and help secure more funding for foster youth in future emergency relief packages. Upload an essay or video describing challenges you’ve faced or resources you’ve needed during the crisis. Your story will be shared with Congress. Click here for more details.

Connect with us on social media for the latest news, opportunities and action alerts. We’re on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com